March Break CanadaMarch break, spring break and stat holidays by province

Spring break 2027 in Alberta

Spring break 2027 in Alberta: set by each board

CBE: Saturday, March 20 to Monday, March 29EPSB: Tuesday, March 30 to Friday, April 2

 

Calendar highlights

Verified board calendars (Calculated)
2 school board calendars verified so far; their breaks fall in 2 different weeks
Consecutive days without classes at CBE (Calculated)
11 days, from Friday, March 19, 2027 to Monday, March 29, 2027, including adjacent weekends and other days off listed in the calendar
Weekdays needing child care at CBE (Calculated)
6 weekdays to arrange care for if you work Monday to Friday and have the listed statutory holidays off. The count excludes these holidays during this period: Good Friday
Who sets the calendar
School boardsEducation Act, section 60: each board sets and publishes its school days
Local name
Spring breakprinted as spring break in the calendars
Time zone for the countdown
Edmonton
Statutory holidays
Alberta stat holidays

Items marked Calculated are worked out from published dates; they are not stated directly in the official source.

The verified calendars in Alberta show why a local school board matters when planning spring break 2027. Calgary Board of Education and Edmonton Public Schools publish their own schedules under the Education Act, and their spring breaks do not coincide. This page keeps those board calendars separate instead of presenting one provincial answer. Follow the board links for Calgary’s fall break and each board’s non-instructional days. General holidays have their own Alberta page, leaving the school tables here to explain the differences that affect time away from class.

Spring break in Alberta: all verified school yearsBoard calendars (no province-wide date has been verified)
School yearWhoDatesSchool daysClasses resumeCountdown
2025–26Calgary Board of EducationSaturday, March 21 to Sunday, March 29, 20265 school daysMonday, March 30, 2026 
2025–26Edmonton Public SchoolsMonday, March 30 to Thursday, April 2, 20264 school daysnot stated in the calendar 
2026–27Calgary Board of EducationSaturday, March 20 to Monday, March 29, 20275 school daysTuesday, March 30, 2027 
2026–27Edmonton Public SchoolsTuesday, March 30 to Friday, April 2, 20274 school daysMonday, April 5, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 

Alberta does not publish one province-wide spring break: school boards set the dates (Education Act, section 60: each board sets and publishes its school days). The table shows every board calendar that has been verified; others appear when their calendars are checked.

Same year elsewhere: Nova Scotia March 8 to 12, Ontario March 15 to 19, Prince Edward Island March 19 to 25, Manitoba March 29 to April 2. Full comparison: March break 2027 across Canada.

School boards in Alberta

Download school board calendars (.ics): CBE 2025–26 · CBE 2026–27 · EPSB 2025–26 · EPSB 2026–27

Christmas break by province: Christmas break 2026 in Canada.

Common questions

Can I use the Calgary break for Edmonton schools?

No. The verified dates for 2027 are as follows: Calgary Board of Education: Saturday, March 20 to Monday, March 29, 2027; Edmonton Public Schools: Tuesday, March 30 to Friday, April 2, 2027. The two verified boards have spring breaks in different weeks of the same year. Select the relevant board in the break table rather than carrying a Calgary date range over to Edmonton Public Schools, or the other way around.

Where does Calgary’s fall break fit into the schedule?

Calgary Board of Education prints a fall break as part of its own calendar. Follow the Calgary Board of Education link to see its fall break dates; it is a board calendar feature, not a break established here for every Alberta school.

Who decides the non-instructional days?

Alberta school boards set and publish their school calendars under the Education Act. Non-instructional days belong to those board schedules. The verified calendars on this page come from Calgary Board of Education and Edmonton Public Schools, each shown on its own terms.

Official sources

Dates come from the official sources listed above. Calculated dates are labelled; transcribed dates are checked digit by digit before publication. If dates differ, follow the current official document.

This page’s dates were last checked against official documents on October 25, 2026. How we verify dates