March Break CanadaMarch break, spring break and stat holidays by province

March break and spring break 2027 across Canada

Province-wide break weeks for 2027

Ontario: Monday, March 15 to Friday, March 19Nova Scotia: Monday, March 8 to Friday, March 12Prince Edward Island: Friday, March 19 to Thursday, March 25Manitoba: Monday, March 29 to Friday, April 2NB, QC, YT, BC, NT, AB, SK: Board/school dates in the table

The earliest verified break of 2027 starts Monday, March 1, 2027 (Anglophone South School District); the latest ends Friday, April 2, 2027 (Manitoba).

Calendar highlights

Calendars checked across Canada (Calculated)
16 verified calendars covering 11 provinces and territories
Distinct starting weeks (Calculated)
Breaks begin in 4 different weeks
Most common break week (Calculated)
The week starting on Monday, March 15, 2027, shared by 8 calendars
Overall break date range (Calculated)
33 days from the earliest break’s start on Monday, March 1, 2027 to the latest break’s end on Friday, April 2, 2027
Longest break listed (Calculated)
Most weekdays: Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1) (10 weekdays)
Shortest break listed (Calculated)
Fewest weekdays: Edmonton Public Schools (4 weekdays)

Items marked Calculated are worked out from published dates; they are not stated directly in the official source.

Compare every verified school break week available for 2027 in one place. The grid shows how the breaks line up across the country, and the table identifies the school days covered by each break and the first day back. Province-wide weeks appear alongside school board weeks, with the scope of each entry made clear. Where calendars differ within a province or territory, the individual entries preserve those differences. Follow the source beneath a table for the official calendar. Further entries are added as published calendars are checked, rather than carried forward from an earlier year.

Who is on break: March and April 2027Each day shows which provinces, boards and schools are on break; check the tables below for exact dates.
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
Mar 1NB ASD-SQC CSS de la CapitaleQC EMSB2NB ASD-SQC CSS de la CapitaleQC EMSB3NB ASD-SQC CSS de la CapitaleQC EMSB4NB ASD-SQC CSS de la CapitaleQC EMSB5NB ASD-SQC CSS de la CapitaleQC EMSBYT 2 schools6YT 2 schools7YT 2 schools
8NSYT 13 schools9NSYT 13 schools10NSYT 13 schools11NSYT 13 schools12NSYT 15 schools13YT 14 schools14YT 14 schools
15ONBC VSBNT YK1YT 18 schools16ONBC VSBNT YK1YT 16 schools17ONBC VSBNT YK1YT 16 schools18ONBC VSBNT YK1YT 16 schools19ONBC VSBNT YK1PEYT 16 schools20ON PeelBC VSBNT YK1PEAB CBEYT 4 schools21ON PeelBC VSBNT YK1PEAB CBEYT 4 schools
22ON PeelBC VSBNT YK1PEAB CBEYT 4 schools23ON PeelBC VSBNT YK1PEAB CBEYT 4 schools24ON PeelBC VSBNT YK1PEAB CBEYT 4 schools25ON PeelBC VSBNT YK1PEAB CBEYT 4 schools26NT YK1AB CBE27AB CBE28AB CBE
29AB CBEMBSK Saskatoon Public30MBSK Saskatoon PublicAB EPSBYT 1 school31MBSK Saskatoon PublicAB EPSBYT 1 schoolApr 1MBSK Saskatoon PublicAB EPSBYT 1 school2MBSK Saskatoon PublicAB EPSBYT 1 school34
Every verified March break and spring break of 2027In date order; calculated first days back are labelled
WhoDatesSchool daysClasses resumeCountdown
Anglophone South School District
regular calendar and pilot schools
Monday, March 1 to Friday, March 5, 20275 school daysMonday, March 8, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
Centre de services scolaire de la CapitaleMonday, March 1 to Friday, March 5, 20275 school daysTuesday, March 9, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
English Montreal School BoardMonday, March 1 to Friday, March 5, 20275 school daysMonday, March 8, 2027 
2 schools: Programme Confluence, Robert ServiceFriday, March 5 to Monday, March 15, 20277 school daysTuesday, March 16, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
1 school: Tantalus CommunityMonday, March 8 to Friday, March 12, 20275 school daysMonday, March 15, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
10 schools: CSSC Mercier, École Émilie-Tremblay, Whitehorse Schools, J.V. Clark, Khatinas.axh Community, Grey Mountain Primary, Takhini Elementary, Eliza Van Bibber, Ross River, St. Elias CommunityMonday, March 8 to Friday, March 19, 202710 school daysMonday, March 22, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
Nova ScotiaMonday, March 8 to Friday, March 12, 20275 school daysMonday, March 15, 2027
first weekday after the break; check your school calendar for PA days or other non-instructional days
 
2 schools: Johnson Elementary, Watson Lake SecondaryFriday, March 12 to Thursday, March 25, 202710 school daysTuesday, March 30, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
2 schools: Del Van Gorder, Kluane LakeMonday, March 15 to Thursday, March 25, 20279 school daysTuesday, March 30, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
2 schools: Chief Zzeh Gittlit, Ghùch Tlâ CommunityMonday, March 15 to Friday, March 19, 20275 school daysMonday, March 22, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
OntarioMonday, March 15 to Friday, March 19, 20275 school daysMonday, March 22, 2027
first weekday after the break; check your school calendar for PA days or other non-instructional days
 
Peel District School BoardMonday, March 15 to Friday, March 19, 20275 school daysMonday, March 22, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
Peel District School Board
modified (balanced) calendar, three schools
Monday, March 15 to Thursday, March 25, 20279 school daysTuesday, March 30, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
Toronto District School BoardMonday, March 15 to Friday, March 19, 20275 school daysMonday, March 22, 2027 
Vancouver School Board (School District 39)Monday, March 15 to Thursday, March 25, 20279 school daysTuesday, March 30, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1)
JK to Grade 8 and Grades 9 to 12
Monday, March 15 to Friday, March 26, 20279 school daysnot stated in the calendar 
Prince Edward IslandFriday, March 19 to Thursday, March 25, 20275 school daysTuesday, March 30, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
Calgary Board of EducationSaturday, March 20 to Monday, March 29, 20275 school daysTuesday, March 30, 2027 
ManitobaMonday, March 29 to Friday, April 2, 20275 school daysMonday, April 5, 2027
first weekday after the break; check your school calendar for PA days or other non-instructional days
 
Saskatoon Public SchoolsMonday, March 29 to Friday, April 2, 20275 school daysMonday, April 5, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
1 school: Nelnah Bessie JohnTuesday, March 30 to Friday, April 2, 20274 school daysMonday, April 5, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 
Edmonton Public SchoolsTuesday, March 30 to Friday, April 2, 20274 school daysMonday, April 5, 2027
calculated from the calendar; no return date is stated
 

Provinces and territories

Not yet in this table for 2027: Newfoundland and Labrador and Nunavut. Their dates appear when the official school calendar for that year is published and verified; nothing is estimated from earlier years. This information was last checked against the official sources on November 2, 2026.

Other years

Common questions

When is March break in 2027?

The verified dates for 2027 are as follows:

  • Anglophone South School District (regular calendar and pilot schools): Monday, March 1 to Friday, March 5, 2027;
  • Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale: Monday, March 1 to Friday, March 5, 2027;
  • English Montreal School Board: Monday, March 1 to Friday, March 5, 2027;
  • Nova Scotia: Monday, March 8 to Friday, March 12, 2027;
  • Ontario: Monday, March 15 to Friday, March 19, 2027;
  • Vancouver School Board (School District 39): Monday, March 15 to Thursday, March 25, 2027;
  • Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1) (JK to Grade 8 and Grades 9 to 12): Monday, March 15 to Friday, March 26, 2027;
  • Prince Edward Island: Friday, March 19 to Thursday, March 25, 2027;
  • Calgary Board of Education: Saturday, March 20 to Monday, March 29, 2027;
  • Manitoba: Monday, March 29 to Friday, April 2, 2027;
  • Saskatoon Public Schools: Monday, March 29 to Friday, April 2, 2027;
  • Edmonton Public Schools: Tuesday, March 30 to Friday, April 2, 2027.

For 2027, choose the entry for your school or school board; a neighbouring board may follow a different calendar.

When do students return after the break in 2027?

The first day back after the break is listed by calendar here:

  • Anglophone South School District (regular calendar and pilot schools): Monday, March 8, 2027 (calculated);
  • Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale: Tuesday, March 9, 2027 (calculated);
  • English Montreal School Board: Monday, March 8, 2027;
  • Nova Scotia: Monday, March 15, 2027 (calculated);
  • Ontario: Monday, March 22, 2027 (calculated);
  • Vancouver School Board (School District 39): Tuesday, March 30, 2027 (calculated);
  • Prince Edward Island: Tuesday, March 30, 2027 (calculated);
  • Calgary Board of Education: Tuesday, March 30, 2027;
  • Manitoba: Monday, April 5, 2027 (calculated);
  • Saskatoon Public Schools: Monday, April 5, 2027 (calculated);
  • Edmonton Public Schools: Monday, April 5, 2027 (calculated).

For 2027, a printed return date comes from the same official calendar as the break. For province-wide entries in Ontario, Manitoba and Nova Scotia, a calculated date is the first weekday after the break; local calendars may include a PA day or another non-instructional day, so check your school calendar. For other calendars, a calculated date is the first weekday following the break that has no day off listed in that calendar.

Does this page include every school calendar for 2027?

No. This page includes 16 verified calendars from 11 provinces and territories. Only published calendars that have been independently verified are included for 2027. Each entry states whether it covers a province, territory, board or school; a regional listing should not be assumed to cover every school nearby.

Official sources

Dates come from the official sources listed above. Calculated dates are labelled; transcribed dates are checked digit by digit before publication. If dates differ, follow the current official document.

This page’s dates were last checked against official documents on November 2, 2026. How we verify dates