YK1 spring break 2026–27: Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1) in the Northwest Territories
Spring break 2027 at YK1
Monday, March 15 to Friday, March 26, 2027
9 school days.
Print this page for a compact overview of key dates, without menus, notes or questions.
The school day count includes weekdays during the break, excluding Christmas Day, New Year’s Day and other holidays listed in the school calendar or the province’s or territory’s statutory-holiday list.
School year 2026–27 (JK to Grade 8)
Add to your calendar (.ics) The file contains only published dates, with no calculated or assumed dates.
| Date | What | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Thursday, August 27, 2026 | First day of school | |
| Monday, December 21, 2026 to Friday, January 1, 2027 | Winter break | 8 school days |
| Monday, March 15 to Friday, March 26, 2027 | Spring break | 9 school days |
| Wednesday, June 23, 2027 | Last day of school |
School year 2026–27 (Grades 9 to 12)
| Date | What | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Thursday, August 27, 2026 | First day of school | |
| Monday, December 21, 2026 to Friday, January 1, 2027 | Winter break | 8 school days |
| Monday, March 15 to Friday, March 26, 2027 | Spring break | 9 school days |
| Tuesday, June 22, 2027 | Last day of school |
Calendar highlights
- First day of school
- Thursday, August 27, 2026
- Last day of school (JK to Grade 8)
- Wednesday, June 23, 2027
- Last day of school (Grades 9 to 12)
- Tuesday, June 22, 2027
- Territory
- Northwest Territories
- School year breaks (Calculated)
- 2 breaks listed: winter break and spring break
- Weekdays during breaks (Calculated)
- 20 weekdays within listed breaks, counting Monday to Friday and including holidays
- Other province-wide breaks (Calculated)
- Starts in the same week as the province-wide break in Ontario and Prince Edward Island
Items marked Calculated are worked out from published dates; they are not stated directly in the official source.
Two calendars sit behind the 2026–27 school-break information for Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1): one covers junior kindergarten to the end of elementary, and the other covers the senior grades. Their spring break is the same two-week period, but the calendar labels remain useful when reading the rest of each schedule. One printed date could not be confirmed and is omitted with an explanation on the page. Because the district is in the Northwest Territories, broader calendar references use territory-wide language alongside the district’s own information.
| School year | Dates | School days | Classes resume | Countdown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026–27 JK to Grade 8 and Grades 9 to 12 | Monday, March 15 to Friday, March 26, 2027 | 9 school days | not stated in the calendar |
One printed date in the official calendar could not be confirmed and is not shown; the rest of the calendar is unaffected. This information was last checked against the official sources on October 25, 2026.
Territory-wide dates and the other boards: Spring break in the Northwest Territories · all provinces in 2027.
Common questions
Which of the district’s calendars should I read?
Choose the table whose heading includes your child’s grade. Both calendars have the same two-week spring break, but different last days of school.
Why has one printed date been left out?
A date in the official calendar could not be confirmed, so it is not reproduced here. Check with your school before making plans that depend on the missing date.
Why does this page use 'territory-wide'?
The district is in the Northwest Territories, which is a territory. 'Territory-wide' therefore describes the broader geographic level correctly, while the district’s two calendars remain the sources for the school-stage information presented on this page.
Official sources
- Yellowknife Education District No. 1: 2026-2027 School Calendar JK-Grade 8 (PDF) · read on October 25, 2026
- Yellowknife Education District No. 1: 2026-2027 School Calendar Grades 9-12 (PDF) · read on October 25, 2026
Dates come from the official sources listed above. Calculated dates are labelled; transcribed dates are checked digit by digit before publication. If dates differ, follow the current official document.
This page’s dates were last checked against official documents on October 25, 2026. How we verify dates